CYC 24 Hour Race – 20th & 21st June 2015

CYC 24 race Sponsors

CYC 24 race Sponsors

COLERAINE YACHT CLUB 24 HOUR RACE was held on 20/21 June on the Rivet Bann at Coleraine adjacent to the CYC Yacht Club and the Marina.

This Race was first run in 1969 and has run continuously except for a few years in the nineties. The triangle course on the River is 1.85 miles and the trophy goes to the crew who sail the longest distance in 24 hours. There are few sailors around the clubs of Northern Ireland who have not competed in at least one of these unique races.

The cannon to start the Race was fired at 1400 hours on Saturday 20th. by Ulster and Ireland rugby star Andrew Trimble. 16 teams consisting of 120 sailors hit the start line jockeying for the optimum position even though all had 24 hours to catch up or fall behind. Such is the nature of competitive sailing.
Ballyholme Yacht Club Team Paddy Brow in a Laser Radial and Ballyronan Boat Club GP 14 team were first to cross followed closely by Carrickfergus Sailing and Boat Club. The host club CYC first Laser got a really bad start. When asked after his 2 hour leg David MacFarlane said he had set his timer at the wrong sequence and thought he had 1 minute to go! Makes you wonder what starting flags are for. Sixth after the first hour they were to work there way through the fleet to 4th place during the sixth hour.24h race2
The first junior team at the start was the competitive Topper team from CYC skippered by Ulster Squad sailer T C Baxter-Mulvenna. No other Junior team came close and they never lost the lead through the 24 hours.
As the Race developed into the evening the teams from Ballyholme, Coleraine, Ballyronan, Carrick, Cushendall and Foyle occupied the top places with Coleraine working their way through the fleet to take the lead with 4 hours to go. 24h race3There was strong competition between the GP’s of Ballyronan and Foyle with Ballyronan staying just ahead throughout. The Lasers both Radial and Standard were raced hard with little between teams.

The wind blowing force 3 to 4 at the start at times fell off but after mid-day it increased with gusts to force 6 to 7. These were short lived but made for lively conditions especially on down wind legs. Paddy Brow from Ballyholme high ranking on the Ulster Laser Radial squad made an art-form of these conditions hitting waves and surfing for longer than any other Laser sailor.11415480_859216424148573_6195514357796116963_o
The wind direction on the river was NNW giving a good beat albeit with a port bias but giving the GP’s and the Ballyronan Laser Stratos opportunities to carry their spinnakers all the way up the long broad reach.
The last 2 hours were particularly lively as Ballyholme slowly wore down the Coleraine lead finally catching them in the second last hour a lead they held to the final cannon at 1400 hours on Sunday.

The 24 HOUR RACE REGATTA is unique and is the only race of its type in Ireland, with only one other in mainland UK.

Before racing there was a reception for competitors ,sailors, members and local dignitaries with Jazz on the balcony overlooking the river course. Saturday evening’s entertainment was a BBQ and disco with dancing into the small hours. Breakfasts were served from 0700 hrs to 1130 hrs on Sunday.
The prize giving was in the Club house at 1530 where trophies specially designed and created in glass by the artist Susan Hunter were presented to the winners.
CYC Commodore Paul Leighton thanked all who took part and all Club members who had assisted in preparations for the several months before the event.
The trophies were presented by Gavin Smyth managing Director of Autozone the main sponsors. Gavin said that Autozone were delighted to be associated for the second year with this proteges event.
Resultswinners 24h 2015

1st Overall – Ballyholme Yacht Club. Laser Radial

2nd Overall – Coleraine Yacht Club. Laser Standard
3rd Overall – Ballyronan Yacht Club. GP 14
1st Junior – Coleraine Yacht Club. Topper
1st Visitor – Cushendall SBC Laser. Radial
1st Ladies Team – Coleraine Yacht Club. Topper

Final Results:

Hull No Team Club Boat PY corrected average Lap Actual laps Position Junior Position
12 Paddy Brow BYC Laser Radial 1135 0:24:29 52 1
4 J Campbell CYC Laser Std 1091 0:24:45 54 2
2 B Preston BBC Gp14 1130 0:24:50 52 3
14 Paul McLoughlin CSBC Laser Radial 1135 0:25:36 50 4
6 CYC Team1 CYC Topper 1340 0:26:04 24 5 1
15 Alan Thompson LFYC Gp14 1130 0:26:05 49 6
9 Colin White CYC Laser Std 1091 0:26:43 50 7
16 mark Seaton CSC Laser Std 1091 0:26:45 50 8
1 John Lynn CYC Laser Std 1091 0:27:20 49 9
7 CYC Team 2 CYC Topper 1340 0:28:42 21 10 2
8 French Toast CYC Topper 1340 0:29:38 20 11 3
5 Rhonda Lynn CYC Laser Pico 1330 0:29:41 37 12
3 D Murphy BBC Laser Stratos 1092 0:31:43 42 13
11 Kilran Loper SSC Wanderer 1170 0:34:26 36 14
10 Kieran Loger SSC Wanderer 1170 0:35:27 35 15
13 Jamie Gill CYC Wanderer 1170 1:44:42 12 16